Safety on the Internet

I decided to go a different direction with this blog entry.  One of the options was to create a student guide to internet safety.  I decided to utilize http://www.smore.com to create a colorful flyer that could be posted to the web or printed and hung in the classroom.  It discusses the basics, such as, “Do unto others,” engage your internet service provider’s filter, be mindful of who you talk to and what you search for, and Cyberbullying.

Smore was really easy to use and I think makes this topic more engaging.  It could be used as a great culminating activity for any lesson.  Click below to check it out!

guide

 

About mrdeissler

I teach technology education to elementary students and work with teachers on integrating new technologies into their lessons at two different elementary schools. This blog serves as a place for me to reflect and share to help make me a better educator, as well as document my learning in the M.E.T. program at Boise State University Follow me on Twitter @mrdeissler
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Safety on the Internet

  1. marcismith says:

    Kevin,
    What a great idea! I think you did an excellent job with this assignment. I love how you stuck with the ocean analogy the whole time. I love the comparison between cyberbullying and getting stung by a jellyfish. The hurt that venomous words spoken anonymously can be extremely painful. Great work!!

    Marci

  2. Rebecca Muller says:

    I really enjoyed your analogy as well as using a tech tool that I didn’t know about. I learned something new! I love that! It was full of great information that kids would understand.

  3. Outstanding post! It was presented in such a manner that children of all grade levels will get the message. Using a flyer to present the information was very creative. Smore was a great choice to use for this entry. Well done!
    Catherine

Leave a Reply

