Grad Class Transition

This week started a new phase in my life.  Graduate class.  I’m taking two classes each semester at Boise State University online.  Their Ed Tech department seems like it will be a good fit for me.

I’m taking “Introduction to Ed Tech,” and “Integrating Technology into the Classroom,” this semester.  Since I have to keep a WordPress blog, I’m going to try and use this one for two reasons: 1. it’s already set up, and B. it will help me keep all of my bloggy blogs in one place.  I’m going to continue to do some free writing here and there, but moving forward, I’m fairly certain the majority of my blogs here will have to do with classwork, which isn’t a bad thing, because I get to share what I’m learning with everybody.  I guess that’s the idea of this blog anyway.
So far this week, I’ve set up my Google+ account…or, really just started paying attention to it.  When G+ first came out, I set up an account thinking, or being told that it was going to be the next big Facebook.  I made all of two posts and ignored it.  Now I have to throw myself back into trying to figure out what it is and why people like it.  So far, I kind of like it because of its options.  They may not be easy to find, and I’m not sure who this Nelson guy is, but apparently he’s listed as someone I can have a Hangout with; I’m just not sure how to remove him from that list, since I have no idea who he is.  Little things like that that I’m not used to are what I have to figure out, since it should figure prominently in the next two years of my life.
I’ve also been reading a lot about learning theories, which I haven’t really done since undergrad.  Always good to catch up on Piaget, Skinner, Vygotsky and the gang and how they apply their theories to different modern technologies.  12 years ago most of what we use in classrooms today didn’t exist or were still being developed and tested.  I’ve also had to put together a poem to describe who I am.  We used a web 2.0 website to help generate the poem, which was pretty neat because I’ve assigned the same project to my 4th graders.  Last night I had a dream that I got 3 points off of it because of lack of creativity.  You tell me:
 I Am
I guess the grad class anxiety has only just begun….it’s going to be a loooooong two years….
About mrdeissler

I teach technology education to elementary students and work with teachers on integrating new technologies into their lessons at two different elementary schools. This blog serves as a place for me to reflect and share to help make me a better educator, as well as document my learning in the M.E.T. program at Boise State University Follow me on Twitter @mrdeissler
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

