“Back to school….back to school….to prove to dad that I’m not a fool…”

backtoschool

I love that song from Billy Madison.  Alas, it is my turn to go back to school.  Finally.  After graduating from Shippensburg University in 2005, now that I finally have a contract and a direction (and somebody to help pay for it), I am going back for my master’s degree.  By the way, the term “master’s degree,” should not be capitalized in professional papers.  I just learned this.  See, when you’re not teaching grammar and have been out of school for so long, these types of writing rules slip your mind.  I guess my initial goal of starting this blog has kind of gone to the wayside, since this has turned into my stream of consciousness and not a way to write professionally.

I applied to Boise State University to enroll in their Master’s of Educational Technology program, with the goal to have a certification in tech integration.  My application essay, after being proofread by my wife, was sent off and graded (unbeknownst to me).  It turns out that I got an 89% on it.  The professor who graded it said that it “was not perfect, not perfect, but just fine.”  Wow.  The things he picked it apart on, such as the capitalized “Master’s Degree,” and different “casual writing” techniques was fascinating.  It’s true, that if you don’t keep up with something, I guess you get lazy at it.

The thing is, I’m ready to go back to school.  I need to be challenged.  My views on education and philosophies on teaching have changed a lot in the last 8 years.  My viewpoint on homework has changed, my thoughts on teaching have changed; I love the idea of a flipped classroom.  I crave social interaction from my professional learning network.  Twitter was founded a year after I graduated; now it will play an intricate role in the completion of my master’s.  I.  Can’t.  Wait.  I’ve always admired those who walk in student graduations with their own unique robes from where they graduated from and have always wanted to have one too.  It’s a source of pride for me.  And as I embark on this trek, wish me luck.  Balancing a family, teaching, church, Relay For Life, and everything else I do with this is going to be insane and probably drive me insane at times, but I’m sure that’s part of looking back at the end and saying to yourself, “I did it.”

About mrdeissler

I teach technology education to elementary students and work with teachers on integrating new technologies into their lessons at two different elementary schools. This blog serves as a place for me to reflect and share to help make me a better educator, as well as document my learning in the M.E.T. program at Boise State University Follow me on Twitter @mrdeissler
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

