What the heck has Mr. Deissler been up to?

So I tweeted a couple of weeks ago (maybe it was a couple of weeks ago, time flies when you’re having fun), that I’ve been ignoring my personal learning network.  That wasn’t by choice, I’ve just had a TON going on right now.  So let’s break it down and fill you in on all of the hats I’m wearing.  By the way, I wear my hats backwards so that there is less wind resistance as I’m plowing forward.

  • Teacher.  First and foremost, I am a teacher and integrator.  I love it.  I can’t get enough of it.  Being in the classroom is where I love to be.  When I’m not teaching my own class, I love finding new ways to integrate technology into the classroom.  If I’m not in the classroom, I’m researching new ways, or I’m planning.  The other day I cranked out three lesson plans and multiple resources for our new fifth grade yearlong project; that’s been taking most of my time.  It was something that I pieced together last year, and with new schedules, new timeframes, we’re working hard as a tech team to pull it all together.  One of my goals for the year is to meet with those other two and continue to make magic happen.  We ARE one of the most cohesive and effective departments in the district, in my opinion.
  • Active Alumni.  I am one of the leaders of the Lambda Delta Alumni Association of Kappa Kappa Psi.  KKPsi is an honorary band service fraternity that I’ve served with pride since my time at Shippensburg University.  When we first founded, I was voted our first president for the first two years of existence.  It’s taken a number of years to finally form our alumni association, and I take pride in what we accomplish to help the active chapter and to continue to serve the bands at Ship.
  • Special Assistant to the Athletic Director at Keith Valley Middle School.  I just made that title up right now.  When I was at KV, one of my many duties was athletic director.  I absolutely loved that job, and I feel that I took it to new heights and successes.  One of the great stories that has come out of my time there was an annual breast cancer awareness girls soccer game that last year we coined “The Lisa Giardetti Classic.”  This year will be our second one.  I’ve offered my services to the current AD to put this, as well as some other events together to raise awareness of different causes.  It’s just about time to dig into the football double header we have coming up to benefit Cystic Fibrosis.  The planning for this, while working with the parents, has proven to be time consuming, but I know, based on the past, that at the end of the event, I am filled with so much pride for our school, our district, and our community.
  • Relay For Life of Eastern Montgomery County Publicity Chair.  Yeah.  My wife wanted something to do outside of work and church.  So she signed US up to be the publicity chair.  Needless to say, she’s been busy with work and church.  I’ve never done any sort of publicity work before, but I’m trying to use my leadership experience to build on what has been done and what CAN be done.  It’s also something that is extremely rewarding at the end of the event.  That kind of pride makes you keep going and plugging forward.
  • Church Webmaster.  I manage the website for St. Andrew’s United Methodist Church in Hatboro.  I’m in charge of any software training for the staff, in charge of the sound booth, and trouble-shooter for all things web related.  Plus, I like having the title “Webmaster.”  Makes me sound all official and stuff…
  • Husband and Father.  By the way, at the end of the day, I get to go home to a pretty awesome family.  I’m trying to find a school for grad work, and my wife is very supportive of THAT hat that I will be wearing hopefully pretty soon.  My son makes me laugh and shake my head and if we were smart, we’d start writing a book about the character that he has already at 2 1/2.

So that’s the long drawn out reason as to why I’ve been ignoring my PLN.  How do I keep it all together?  Lists.  Reminders.  Notes.  Am I going to forget or miss something along the way?  I don’t doubt it.  But I strive to be the best at what I do and what I can control.  Even this brief 15 minutes that I could find to type this up has been a great “mental break” before the revolving door of checking off those things on my list throughout the day AND teaching the great minds of tomorrow how to properly save a document today.

About mrdeissler

I teach technology education to elementary students and work with teachers on integrating new technologies into their lessons at two different elementary schools. This blog serves as a place for me to reflect and share to help make me a better educator, as well as document my learning in the M.E.T. program at Boise State University Follow me on Twitter @mrdeissler
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

