Sometimes is just starts with an idea…

So one of the Health & PE teachers came to me asking how he could use the iPads in his health lessons.  I’ve seen some apps about how to use it in PE, monitoring heart rates, burst photography to pick out kinks in form, the usual stuff.  Health could offer us different apps about anatomy, which could get dicey for elementary students.  After some thinking, I decided to throw out an idea that is kind of a new twist on an old favorite.  What if the students parody songs to encourage healthy eating habits and then record music videos using the Video Star app!  Ok, great!  That works!  Now how exactly are we going to do that?

The Video Star app (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hsa2nsjmc4Y) records you lip syncing to an mp3 playing in the background.  I started scratching my head as to how we could get songs that the students parody into an mp3 format.  The best way I could figure, using what we had available to us, was to start by using listentoyoutube.com to download an mp3 of a karaoke version of a song.  I would import that into Audacity and students would record themselves singing over the music.  I tried it out and it seems to work decently; my vocals were a little quiet, but I enhanced the audio and it became better.  I still can’t sing.  I think that’s the worst part for me.  It was fun though.  I rocked out to “Weird” Al Yankovic’s “Eat It” and 7:30 this morning!  I exported it to an mp3, put it on an iPad, and now I’m ready to test out Video Star.

We’ve already heard students start coming up with parodies.  “Another one bites the carrot…”  Hopefully they “eat this project up,” and really have some good wholesome fun while promoting healthy eating habits!

It all starts with an idea. Take it and run with it. Worry about how well it will work later, because you’ll never know how good or bad it is until you try it! Teachers are kind of like scientists; we have to work through that scientific method to find great things to enhance our curriculum.

About mrdeissler

I teach technology education to elementary students and work with teachers on integrating new technologies into their lessons at two different elementary schools. This blog serves as a place for me to reflect and share to help make me a better educator, as well as document my learning in the M.E.T. program at Boise State University Follow me on Twitter @mrdeissler
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

